Procedure for MRgFUS treatment

Step 1 – Pre-examination

After your personal gynecologist has diagnosed a fibroid using an ultrasound and determines that it is the most likely cause for the discomfort the patient is feeling, a MRT examination of the pelvis must be carried out at our FUS center or with a radiologist in the local area. After assessing the technical feasibility of the examination with the MRT images, you will be asked to attend a personal consultation and information meeting by the FUS specialist at our center or over the telephone if you have a long distance to travel.

Step 2 – Defrayal of expenses and arranging an appointment

If you are suitable for treatment, you will receive an application from us for defrayal of expenses to be submitted to your health insurance company. Once we have received the treatment guarantee in writing, you will receive an appointment for MRgFUS treatment from our patient management. You will be sent written confirmation of your appointment along with all the information relating to your treatment.

Step 3 – Day of treatment:

If the patients are receiving outpatient treatment, they will come to our FUS center in Dachau on the agreed date. We offer appointments every day with an arrival time of around 8am and noon.

You should eat a light breakfast at home, shave the hairs on your lower abdomen without using cream and then travel to the FUS center in Dachau.

After notifying the office of your arrival, you will have a detailed conversation where a demonstration will be given on the MRT images, the treatment procedure and the information sheet.

The patient is taken to the treatment room foyer where she can get changed in the dressing room (hospital gown). Intravenous access is established. This is necessary to be able to administer painkillers and sedatives. We also require a urinary bladder catheter to be able to monitor the filling level of the urinary bladder during treatment. Both of these items are provided by the doctor's assistant. There is another short conversation with the attending physician for any last questions.

The patient is then positioned as comfortably as possible in the MRT on a cushioned bed with in-built ultrasound device (pillows and blankets are provided). The patient lies with her head facing the outside and is able to see the medical workers through a pane of glass during treatment and is able to catch their attention by pressing an alarm ball or stop button. Ultrasound exposure can be interrupted at any time by pressing the stop button. Images are taken of the pelvic organs again to assess the current state of the fibroid. These images can be used to determine the best possible positioning for the patient which is easy to specify. The plan for uterine fibroid treatment will be prepared on the computer using the images, while the patient continues to lie still in the device. A mild sedative and painkiller ensures that the patient has very little awareness of the treatment and gives the impression that the time taken for said treatment is a lot shorter. All the points in the fibroid that are indicated are heated one after the other over a period of around 2-3 hours. The patient's pulse is controlled using a monitor and the temperature changes to the skin and in the body are displayed and controlled for every delivery of ultrasound.

After the last delivery of ultrasound, a final MRT is carried out using a contrast agent. This shows which areas of the fibroid are now no longer supplied with blood and the percentage of the uterine fibroid that has been treated. The area or the volume that is no longer supplied with blood is referred to as the "Non Perfused Volume" (NPV). Numerous international publications describe a NPV of over 60 percent as a good treatment result. Our comprehensive experience has shown that an NPV of over 80 percent is required to reduce the risk of relapse compared to a myomectomy. Please refer to our publications:
Magnetic Resonance Imaging-Guided Focused Ultrasound Treatment of Symptomatic Uterine Fibroids: Impact of Technology Advancement on Ablation.

Following treatment, the patient can lie back in the hospital bed, as they will be connected to another intravenous drip with glucose solution. The attending physician will discuss the treatment result with the patient and show them the images. The patient is then taken to the ward. She should stay there for another 1 to 2 hours. The staff nurse will also remove the urinary catheter and the venous access here. You are then able to leave the hospital accompanied by someone responsible (you are unable to drive due to the medication you have taken). It goes without saying that we provide our patients with the option to stay overnight at our hospital free of charge if they have a long journey home or if nobody is accompanying them.

The patient will be sent a treatment report and a CD with the MRT images in the next few days by post. Die Patientin erhält einen Behandlungsbericht und eine CD mit den MRT-Aufnahmen in den nächsten Tagen mit der Post zugeschickt.

Step 4 – Check-up:

The treated fibroid will be partially or completely removed over a period of several months by your body's own immune system. The discomfort caused by the fibroid will decrease or gradually disappear completely. We recommend undergoing an MRT check-up 6 months after receiving treatment from your local radiologist or at our FUS center. You do not need to undergo any further examinations.

Case example

Case example of a 47-year-old patient with multiple myoma nodes up to a diameter of 5 cm in size.

vor Therapie
MRI images before treatment
Unmittelbar nach Therapie
MRI images directly after the administration of contrast medium. The treated myomas are no longer perfused with blood, therefore they take up less contrast medium and remain black on the image.
6 Monate nach Therapie
MRI images 11 months after MRgFUS treatment. The myomas are no longer visible or have shrunk markedly. The patient was completely free of symptoms 3 months after treatment.

Ablauf der MRgFUS-Behandlung

Schritt 1 – Voruntersuchung

Nachdem Ihr persönlicher Frauenarzt ein Myom durch Ultraschall diagnostiziert hat und feststellt, dass dieses am ehesten die Ursache für auftretende Beschwerden ist, ist eine MRT-Untersuchung des Beckens in unserem FUS-Center oder beim heimatnahen Radiologen erforderlich. Nach der Prüfung der technischen Machbarkeit durch die MRT-Aufnahmen erfolgt ein persönliches Beratungs- und Aufklärungsgespräch durch den FUS-Spezialisten in unserem Zentrum oder telefonisch, falls Sie einen weiten Anreiseweg haben.

Schritt 2 – Kostenübernahme und Terminvereinbarung

Sofern Sie für die Behandlung geeignet sind, erhalten Sie von uns einen Antrag auf Kostenübernahme zur Vorlage bei Ihrer Krankenkasse. Sobald die schriftliche Kostenzusage vorliegt, erhalten Sie über unser Patientenmanagement einen Termin zur MRgFUS-Behandlung. Eine schriftliche Terminbestätigung mit allen Informationen zur Behandlung wird Ihnen zugeschickt.

Schritt 3 – Behandlungstag

Zur ambulanten Behandlung kommen die Patientinnen zum vereinbarten Termin in unser FUS-Center Dachau. Wir bieten täglich Termine an mit Anreise gegen 8 Uhr und 12 Uhr.

Zuhause ein leichtes Frühstück einnehmen, Rasur der Härchen am Unterbauch ohne eincremen, Fahrt nach Dachau ins FUS-Center.

Nach der Anmeldung im Sekretariat erfolgt ein ausführliches Gespräch mit Demonstration der MRT-Bilder, den Ablauf der Behandlung und des Aufklärungsbogens.

Die Patientin wird in den Behandlungsvorraum gebracht, dort kann sie sich in der Kabine umziehen (Flügelhemdchen von der Klinik). Ein intravenöser Zugang wird gelegt. Dieser ist notwendig, um nach Bedarf Schmerz- und Beruhigungsmittel verabreichen zu können. Zusätzlich benötigen wir einen Harnblasenkatheter, um die Füllmenge der Harnblase während der Behandlung kontrollieren zu können. Beides wird von der Arzthelferin gelegt. Es erfolgt noch ein kurzes Gespräch mit dem behandelnden Arzt für letzte Fragen.

Anschließend wird die Patientin im MRT wie bei der Voruntersuchung auf einer gepolsterten Liege mit eingebautem Ultraschallgerät möglichst bequem positioniert (Kissen und Decken sind vorhanden). Die Patientin liegt mit dem Kopf nach draußen und kann durch eine Glasscheibe während der Behandlung das Personal sehen und sich über einen Alarmball bzw Stopknopf in der Hand bemerkbar machen. Mit dem Stopknopf kann jederzeit die Schallabgabe unterbrochen werden. Es werden nochmals Bilder von den Beckenorganen gemacht um die aktuelle Lage der Myome zu beurteilen. Anhand dieser Aufnahmen erfolgt die optimale Lagerung der Patientin mit leichter Fixierung. Die Planung der Uterus-Myom-Behandlung wird anhand der Bilder im Computer erstellt, die Patientin liegt weiterhin ruhig im Gerät. Ein leichtes Beruhigungs- und Schmerzmittel sorgt dafür, dass die Patientin nur wenig von der Behandlung mitbekommt und der Behandlungszeitraum dadurch deutlich kürzer erscheint. Alle eingezeichneten Punkte im Myom werden nacheinander über einen Zeitraum von ca. 2-3 Stunden erhitzt. Der Puls wird über einen Monitor kontrolliert und die Temperaturentwicklung an Haut und im Körper wird bei jeder Ultraschallabgabe angezeigt und kontrolliert.

Nach der letzten Schallabgabe wird ein Abschluß-MRT mit Kontrastmittel gefahren. Dies zeigt, welche Bereiche des Myoms nun nicht mehr durchblutet sind und wie viel Prozent des Uterus-Myoms behandelt wurde. Das Areal, bzw. Volumen, welches nicht mehr durchblutet ist, nennt man "Non Perfused Volume" (NPV). Mehrere internationale Publikationen beschreiben ein NPV von über 60 Prozent als gutes Behandlungsergebnis. Anhand unserer umfassenden Erfahrung hat sich gezeigt, dass ein NPV von über 80 Prozent notwendig ist, um das Rezidivrisiko im Vergleich zu einer Myomektomie zu reduzieren. Siehe dazu unsere Publikation:
Magnetic Resonance Imaging-Guided Focused Ultrasound Treatment of Symptomatic Uterine Fibroids: Impact of Technology Advancement on Ablation.

Die Patientin kann sich nach der Behandlung ins Krankenhausbett zurücklegen, es wird noch eine Infusion mit Glucoselösung angeschlossen. Der behandelnde Arzt bespricht mit der Patientin das Behandlungsergebnis und zeigt die Bilder. Anschließend wird die Patientin auf Station gebracht, dort soll sie sich noch 1 bis 2 Stunden ausruhen. Dort wird auch von der Stationsschwester der Blasenkatheter und der venöse Zugang entfernt. Sie kann dann in Begleitung das Krankenhaus verlassen (an diesem Tag besteht Fahruntauglichkeit aufgrund der Medikamente). Für Patientinnen mit weiter Heimreise oder ohne Begleitung bieten wir selbstverständlich eine kostenfreie Übernachtungsmöglichkeit in unserer Klinik an.

Die Patientin erhält einen Behandlungsbericht und eine CD mit den MRT-Aufnahmen in den nächsten Tagen mit der Post zugeschickt.

Schritt 4 – Kontrolluntersuchung

Das behandelte Myomgewebe wird über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Monaten vom körpereigenen Immunsystem teilweise oder ganz abgebaut. Die myombedingten Beschwerden gehen zurück oder verschwinden nach und nach ganz. Wir empfehlen 6 Monate nach der Behandlung beim heimatnahen Radiologen oder in unserem FUS-Center eine MRT-Kontrolluntersuchung durchführen zu lassen. Weitere Untersuchungen sind nicht notwendig.

Fallbeispiel

Fallbeispiel einer 47jährigen Patientin mit mehreren Myomknoten bis zu einem Größendurchmesser von 5 cm.

vor Therapie
MRT-Bilder vor der Behandlung
Unmittelbar nach Therapie
MRT-Bilder direkt nach der Gabe von Kontrastmittel. Die behandelten Myome sind nicht mehr durchblutet, nehmen deshalb kein Kontrastmittel mehr auf und bleiben auf den Bildern schwarz.
6 Monate nach Therapie
MRT-Bilder 11 Monate nach der MRgFUS-Behandlung. Die Myome sind nicht mehr nachweisbar oder deutlich geschrumpft. Die Patientin war 3 Monate nach der Behandlung komplett beschwerdefrei.