Questions and Answers

Myomas are nowadays believed to be caused by genetic predisposition as well as hormonal stimulation.
Myomas occur in the womb (uterus).
Typically, women aged between 20 and 50 years of age develop myomas. This fact also supports the belief that myomas develop as a result of hormonal stimulation.
Your gynecologist can use an ultrasound scan to check whether or not you have myomas (number, position and size) and determine whether these are the cause of your symptoms. Talk to your gynecologist if you have at least one of the following symptoms:
  • Heavy and prolonged periods
  • Pain in the back or legs or a feeling of pressure in the pelvis
  • Involuntary childlessness or miscarriage
  • Pain during sexual intercourse
  • Frequent pressure on the bladder
Essentially, it is impossible to state from the outset which myomas can be treated with MRgFUS and which cannot. This decision can only ever be made during a consultation following an initial examination, once the radiological images from the MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) scan are available and which can be used to plan any MRgFUS therapy. It is true that certain types of myoma are more difficult to treat with MRgFUS, and some myoma radiologists may refuse this type of treatment if the likelihood of the treatment being successful is too low. But even difficult myomas such as myomas that have a good blood supply, subserous myomas or myomas with a diameter of greater than 10 cm have, in individual cases, been treated successfully at the FUS Center.
  • Your personal medical history and family history (e.g. allergies)
  • Do you currently have any illnesses?
  • Are you taking any medication?
  • Are you or might you be pregnant?
  • Are you able to have MRI treatment (not suitable for people who have a heart pacemaker or patients with an allergy to contrast medium, for example)
Some women have reported a feeling of warmth or heat over the skin or in the pelvis. Others experienced a short "stitch" or "burning" sensation for a few seconds when the energy was released.
You will lie on a special treatment couch in the MRI scanner and you will be able to communicate with your medical team throughout the treatment. Your doctor may tell you about possible sensations you may feel during treatment, which are perfectly normal. He will tell you to press the button in your hand if you feel that the sensations you are experiencing are more exaggerated than normal, and treatment can be stopped
The treatment normally takes 3-4 hours. You must then rest for 1-2 hours.
The length of the entire process depends on the scheduling of the investigation appointments. You will need an appointment for the preliminary examination, an appointment for the actual treatment and a further follow-up appointment after around 6-12 months.
MRgFUS treatment is carried out as an outpatient. The treatment normally takes 3-4 hours. You must then rest for 1-2 hours. You can then go home. If you have a long way to travel to get home, we also offer free overnight accommodation at our facility. You can usually return to your normal routine after 1-2 days.
Patients are generally not off sick at all, or at most are off for 1-2 days, since patients are normally able to return to their normal routines 1-2 days after treatment.
The treated myomas do not come back after successful MRgFUS treatment. New, previously untreated ones, however, can occur.
One of the big advantages of this treatment method is that the patient's fertility is completely preserved, or indeed is influenced positively by the treatment of the myoma.
Generally speaking, MRgFUS is a safe and particularly gentle method for treating myomas. Complications have occurred in only a very few cases to date; the rate of serious complications is extremely low. Talk to your doctor about your likelihood of developing the following complications:
    doctor about your likelihood of developing the following complications:
  • Lower abdominal pain / cramps, back or leg pain
  • Nausea and / or fever
  • Superficial, localized reddening / burning of the skin
  • Urinary tract infection
  • Vaginal discharge, spotting and / or intermenstrual bleeding is possible up to 3 months after treatment
  • Allergic reaction to the contrast medium or sedative
  • Circulatory problems during or after treatment
  • Feeling of heat during therapy
  • Nerve irritation
  • Very rare: Bowel injury

Additional risks:

  • There is a slight risk that the treatment will not be successful and that you will need an alternative treatment to alleviate your symptoms.
  • - The treatment may have successfully reduced your symptoms, however it is still possible that further, new myomas will develop at a later stage that will require further treatment. This risk applies to all of the alternative treatments for myoma apart from hysterectomy (removal of the womb).
Worldwide, over 10,000 MRgFUS treatments have been carried out, with over 1,000 performed in the FUS Center at the hospital in Dachau (as of 02/2014).
Not all statutory health insurance companies currently cover the costs of MRgFUS treatment. Only the Techniker Krankenkasse, AOK Bayern and Barmer GEK currently cover all of the costs of this treatment. Our many years of experience and constant contact with various health insurance companies means we already have defined contacts with these companies and have cost reimbursement covered as a one-off payment with most statutory health insurance firms. We therefore apply for cover of the costs on your behalf.

Private health insurance companies will generally assume some or even all of the costs of MRgFUS treatment. We will make a request for coverage of the costs before treatment begins, with a complete list of the exact costs involved. DEBEKA is the first private health insurance company to pay all of the costs of this treatment.
Treatment costs between Euro 4,100 and 4,200 if your insurance company will not cover the costs. However there is always the option of changing insurance company. The Techniker Krankenkasse, AOK Bayern and Barmer GEK will cover all of the costs from the first day of insurance.
The MRI scans for the preliminary investigation can in principle be performed by any radiologist and then sent as DICOM images on CD by post to the FUS Center. However it must be kept in mind that the particular requirements relating to these images must be complied with.

Protocol for an MRI scan of the pelvis for presentation to your radiologist
Since the cause of myomas is still not fully understood, it is impossible to provide definitive recommendations on how to prevent them. However since it is believed that myoma growth is caused by hormones, we recommend avoiding products that contain estrogen such as soy products or large quantities of St. John's wort.
Myomas are benign growths in the uterus. They should be checked regularly, however, in order to ensure treatment can be initiated if there are any changes.
If you become pregnant despite having a myoma, you can continue the pregnancy without having the myoma treated. Myomas are never removed while pregnant. If your symptoms are still present after the birth, however, discuss your further treatment options with your gynecologist.

Myomas do not necessarily prevent pregnancy, however they can cause problems during it. In certain positions, myomas can also cause miscarriages. Myomas can also make the birth itself difficult if they block the birth canal due to their location. In this situation your doctor may recommend that you have a Cesarean section. Myomas increase the risk of heavy bleeding after the birth and can prolong the time until your abdomen returns to its normal size.

Fragen und Antworten

Als Ursachen für Myome werden heute eine genetische Veranlagung sowie eine hormonell bedingte Stimulierung vermutet.
Myome entstehen in der Gebärmutter (Uterus).
Typischerweise bekommen Frauen im Alter zwischen 20 und 50 Jahren Myome. Diese Tatsache unterstützt die Vermutung, dass Myome hormonell bedingt entstehen.
Ihr Frauenarzt/-ärztin kann mittels einer Ultraschalluntersuchung klären, ob Sie Myome haben (Anzahl, Lage und Größe), und kann feststellen, ob diese die Ursache für Ihre Beschwerden sind. Sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Frauenarzt/-ärztin, wenn Sie an mindestens einem dieser folgenden Symptome leiden:
  • Starke und lange Monatsblutungen
  • Schmerzen im Rücken oder in den Beinen oder Druck im Becken
  • Ungewollte Kinderlosigkeit oder Fehlgeburt
  • Schmerzen beim Geschlechtsverkehr
  • Häufiger Druck auf die Blase
Grundsätzlich kann man nicht von vorn herein sagen, welche Myome mit MRgFUS therapierbar sind und welche nicht. Diese Entscheidung kann immer nur im Einzelfall im Patientengespräch nach der Voruntersuchung geklärt werden, wenn die radiologischen Bilder mit Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT) vorliegen, anhand deren die MRgFUS-Therapie geplant werden kann. Richtig ist, dass bestimmte Arten von Myomen schwieriger mit MRgFUS behandelbar sind bzw. eine Therapie durch den Myom-Radiologen abgelehnt werden kann, wenn die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Behandlungserfolges zu gering erscheint. Aber auch schwierigere Myome, wie z. B. stark durchblutete Myome, subseröse Myome oder Myome mit einem Durchmesser größer als 10 cm sind in Einzelfällen im FUS-Center schon erfolgreich behandelt worden.
  • Ihre persönliche Gesundheitshistorie und die familiäre Historie (z. B. Allergien)
  • Liegen aktuelle Krankheiten vor?
  • Nehmen Sie Medikamente?
  • Liegt eine Schwangerschaft vor?
  • Können Sie eine Kernspintomographie-/MRT-Behandlung haben (nicht geeignet z. B. für Träger eines Herzschrittmachers oder Patientin mit Kontrastmittelallergie)
Manche Frauen haben von einem Erwärmungs- oder Hitzegefühl auf der Haut oder im Becken berichtet. Andere empfanden einen kurzen "Stich" oder ein "Brennen" über wenige Sekunden, wenn die Energie ausgesandt wurde.
Sie liegen auf einem speziellen Behandlungstisch im MRT und können während der gesamten Behandlung mit Ihrem ärztlichen Behandlungsteam kommunizieren. Während der Behandlung wird der Arzt Sie auf mögliche Empfindungen hinweisen, die normalerweise auftreten können. Er wird Sie anweisen, einen Knopf zu drücken den Sie in der Hand halten, wenn Ihre Empfindungen über diese hinausgehen, um die Behandlung zu unterbrechen.
Die Behandlung dauert üblicherweise 3-4 Stunden. Danach müssen Sie 1-2 Stunden ruhen.
Die Länge des gesamten Procederes hängt von der Terminierung der Untersuchungstermine ab. Sie benötigen einen Termin für die Voruntersuchung, einen Termin für die eigentliche Behandlung und einen weiteren Termin für die Nachuntersuchung nach ca. 6-12 Monaten.
Die MRgFUS-Behandlung wird ambulant durchgeführt. Die Behandlung dauert üblicherweise 3-4 Stunden. Anschließend müssen Sie 1-2 Stunden ruhen. Danach können Sie nach Hause gehen. Bei einer weiten Heimreise bieten wir auch eine kostenfreie Übernachtungsmöglichkeit in unserer Klinik an. Üblicherweise können Sie nach 1-2 Tagen zu Ihrem normalen Tagesablauf zurückkehren.
Die Patientin ist möglicherweise gar nicht oder evtl. 1-2 Tage krank geschrieben, denn üblicherweise können die Patientinnen nach 1-2 Tagen nach der Behandlung wieder zu ihrem normalen Tagesablauf zurückkehren.
Die behandelten Myome kommen nach einer erfolgreichen MRgFUS-Behandlung nicht zurück. Jedoch können neue, bisher unbehandelte Myome auftreten.
Ein großer Vorteil dieses Therapieverfahrens ist, dass die Fruchtbarkeit der Patientin vollständig bestehen bleibt, bzw. durch die Behandlung der Myome positiv beeinflusst wird.
Im Allgemeinen ist MRgFUS eine sichere und besonders schonende Methode zur Behandlung von Myomen. In wenigen Fällen ist es bisher zu Komplikationen gekommen; die Rate schwerwiegender Komplikationen ist extrem gering. Sprechen Sie mit Ihrem Arzt über die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass folgende Komplikationen bei Ihnen auftreten können:
  • Unterleibsschmerzen/-krämpfe, Rücken- oder Beinschmerzen
  • Übelkeit und/oder Fieber
  • oberflächliche, punktuelle Hautrötungen/-verbrennungen
  • Harnwegsinfektion
  • Scheidenausfluss, Schmierblutung und/oder Zwischenblutung bis 3 Monate nach der Behandlung möglich
  • Allergische Reaktion auf das Kontrastmittel oder Beruhigungsmittel
  • Kreislaufprobleme während oder nach der Behandlung
  • Hitzegefühl während der Therapie
  • Nervenirritation
  • sehr selten: Darmverletzung

Zusätzliche Risiken:

  • Es besteht das geringe Risiko, dass die Behandlung nicht erfolgreich verläuft und Sie evtl. eine alternative Therapie benötigen, um Ihre Beschwerden zu lindern.
  • Die Behandlung kann Ihre Beschwerden erfolgreich vermindert haben, aber es besteht die Möglichkeit, dass zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt weitere, neue Myome auftreten, die eine weitere Behandlung erforderlich machen. Dieses Risiko trifft auf alle Myom-Behandlungsalternativen zu, bis auf die Hysterektomie (Gebärmutterentfernung).
Bisher wurden weltweit über 10.000 Behandlungen mit MRgFUS durchgeführt, davon im FUS-Center am Klinikum Dachau alleine schon über 1.000 Behandlung (Stand 02/2014).
Die Kostenübernahme für eine Behandlung mit MRgFUS ist derzeit noch nicht bei jeder gesetzlichen Krankenkasse im Leistungskatalog enthalten. Eine volle Kostenübernahme erfolgt derzeit nur von der Techniker Krankenkasse, der AOK Bayern sowie der Barmer GEK. Durch unsere jahrelange Erfahrung und den ständigen Kontakt mit verschiedenen Krankenkassen haben wir bereits feste Ansprechpersonen bei den Kassen und erhalten dementsprechend bei den meisten gesetzlichen Krankenkassen eine Kostenübernahme als Einzelfallentscheidung. Wir stellen also für Sie den Antrag auf Kostenübernahme.

Private Krankenversicherungen übernehmen in der Regel die Kosten für eine MRgFUS-Behandlung teilweise oder in einigen Fällen ganz. Wir stellen vor der Behandlung einen Antrag auf Kostenübernahme mit einer exakten Aufstellung der Kosten. Die DEBEKA übernimmt als erste private Krankenkasse die vollständigen Kosten.
Die Therapie kostet 4.100 bis 4.200 Euro, falls Ihre Krankenkasse die Kosten nicht übernehmen würde. Allerdings besteht natürlich auch die Möglichkeit eines Krankenkassenwechsels. Die Techniker Krankenkasse, die AOK Bayern und die Barmer GEK übernehmen die Kosten komplett ab dem ersten Versicherungstag.
Die MRT-Aufnahmen der Voruntersuchung können prinzipiell von jedem Radiologen gemacht und dann als DICOM Bilder auf CD per Post an das FUS-Center geschickt werden. Hierbei muss jedoch beachtet werden, dass die speziellen Anforderungen der Aufnahmen eingehalten werden.

Protokoll für die MRT-Untersuchung des Beckens zur Vorlage bei Ihrem Radiologen.
Da die Ursache für Myome immer noch unbekannt ist, gibt es keine klaren Empfehlungen, wie diese verhindert werden können. Da aber die Vermutung besteht, dass Myome hormonell bedingt wachsen, empfehlen wir östrogenhaltige Produkte zu meiden, wie z. B. Sojaprodukte oder hoch dosiertes Johanniskraut.
Myome sind gutartige Geschwüre in der Gebärmutter. Sie sollten jedoch regelmäßig kontrolliert werden, um bei Veränderungen ggf. eine Behandlung einleiten zu können.
Sollten Sie trotz Myom schwanger werden, tragen Sie die Schwangerschaft ohne Myombehandlung aus. Während einer Schwangerschaft werden Myome niemals entfernt. Sind die Beschwerden nach der Geburt des Kindes immer noch vorhanden, besprechen Sie mit Ihrem Frauenarzt die weitere Behandlung.

Myome verhindern nicht notwendigerweise eine Schwangerschaft, können jedoch zu Unannehmlichkeiten während der Schwangerschaft führen. In bestimmten Lagen können Myome auch Fehlgeburten auslösen. Myome können auch die Geburt erschweren, wenn sie aufgrund ihrer Lage den Geburtskanal blockieren. In diesem Fall wird Ihnen Ihr Arzt evtl. einen Kaiserschnitt empfehlen. Myome verstärken das Risiko starker Blutungen nach der Geburt und können die Zeit verlängern, bis Ihr Bauch wieder seine normale Größe erreicht.